

Clinical Design & Innovation; Office of the Chief Clinical Officer Dr Steevens' Hospital, D08 W2A8 E: clinicaldesign@hse.ie

15th May, 2024

Deputy Louise O'Reilly, TD Dáil Éireann Leinster House Kildare Street Dublin 2

RE: PQ 18946/24

To ask the Minister for Health the number of stroke units that meet the minimum requirements under the stroke guidelines to be a stroke unit since the publication of the National Stroke Audit and as of April 2024; where are these located; and if he will make a statement on the matter

Dear Deputy O'Reilly,

The Health Service Executive (HSE) has been requested to reply directly to you in relation to the above parliamentary question, which you submitted to the Minister for Health for response. I have consulted with the National Clinical Programme (NCP) for Stroke on your question and have been informed that the following outlines the position.

Acute stroke units have been shown to reduce stroke mortality and dependency and are a European Stroke Organisation (ESO) recommendation, with clear set guidelines on what constitutes an acute stroke unit¹.

A Stroke Unit is an organised, geographically identifiable unit in a hospital devoted to stroke care. Staff have expert knowledge in stroke and rehabilitation:

- It is staffed by a multidisciplinary team that meets at least once a week. The consists of doctor(s), nurse(s), healthcare assistant(s), physiotherapist(s), occupational therapist(s), social worker(s), speech and language therapist(s), dietetics and psychology (preferably with a neuropsychological profile);
- It has established a programme for interventions to meet common stroke patients' problems and for recording of the quality of care;
- It is concerned with immediate mobilisation and early rehabilitation after stroke;
- It provides communicatively-accessible detailed information and educates patients and family/friends during the hospital stay.

There are currently 24 acute hospitals which input data into the Irish National Audit for Stroke (INAS) that meet minimum requirements for a stroke unit under the definition outlined above, but not necessarily ESO accreditation requirements.

They are located in the following Health Regions:

Health Regions	Model 2 Hospital sites	Model 3 Hospital sites	Model 4 Hospital sites
Dublin and		Cavan	Beaumont
North East			
		Connolly, Blanchardstown	Mater
		Drogheda	
West and North		Letterkenny University	Galway University Hospital
West		Hospital	
		Mayo University Hospital	
		Portiuncula University	
		Hospital	
		Sligo University Hospital	
South West	Bantry	Mercy University Hospital	Cork University Hospital



	University Hospital Kerry	
Dublin and South East	St Luke's Hospital Kilkenny	St Vincent's University Hospital
	South Tipperary	University Hospital Waterford
	Wexford	
Dublin and Midlands	Regional Hospital Mullingar	Tallaght University Hospital
	Naas General Hospital	St James's Hospital
Mid-West		University Hospital Limerick

I trust this information is of assistance to you, but should you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely

Anne Horgan General Manager

Reference:

1. Ringelstein et al for the ESO Stroke Unit Certification Committee (2013) European Stroke Organisation Recommendations to Establish a Stroke Unit and Stroke Centre. Stroke, 44:828-840. DOI: 10.1161/STROKEAHA.112.670430.

